McCall’s 5977

I made this. Its been a while since I sewed a garment. So, I thought I would reattempt M5977. I guess it is a little like riding a bike, I quickly jumped back in. I cut the pattern to a size 8, and wound up letting out the sides a bit, otherwise it fits great! I usually loathe finishing work (read: hand-sewing) but my mom came over and taught me a quicker way to do it! Maybe I will post a tutorial on that soon. I bought the fabric in the clearance section in the back of Joann Fabrics. It was $3.00 a yard, I bought 1 1/2 yards. Quite. A. Bargain. It was labeled something nursery, but I really liked the pale beige polka dots on white and the soft 100% cotton. I was nervous this garment would end up in the pile of unwearable items that I didn’t want to spend a lot on fabric. $4.50 works for me. A while back I ordered some labels from Etsy, and I love them. Overall, this pattern was easy to sew, and very quick. I made the whole thing in a day (with a 7-month-old so lots of breaks). Probably 2 hours uninterrupted would be a better estimate 🙂

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

